November 02, 2018

Our third annual BC Liquor Conference is just a few days behind us, and the team here at ABLE BC has mostly caught up on sleep.

Thank you to all who joined us for a sold-out day of education, networking, and discussion about urgent issues in our industry. It was a great pleasure to see so many of you in person, and I hope you found the day as useful and informative as I did.

Of course, the BC Liquor Conference is only possible with generous support from our industry partners. ABLE BC’s Board of Directors and staff are immensely grateful to our presenting sponsor 152 Tech for their financial assistance, as well as for their fascinating keynote on the implications of smart technologies.

I also want to offer a special thanks to Western Financial Group, PayVida, ContainerWorld and Commercial Logistics, and Rising Tide Consultants for their ongoing support to ABLE BC and our members.

In addition to the conference, I hope you all enjoyed the tour of the LDB’s new warehouse. Nearly 150 people took the opportunity to check out the new facility and to ask questions about how this will improve delivery in BC. My sincere thanks to Blain Lawson (General Manager and CEO of LDB), Todd Cooper (Executive Director of LDB Wholesale) and his team for opening their doors to us this past Sunday.

For those of you who missed our Annual General Meeting on Sunday Oct. 30th (prior to the opening conference’s opening reception), I thought you should know that we made a small change to our bylaws.

Following the Board’s strategic planning process over the past year, members voted to allow licensed retailers of recreational cannabis to become members. As the first private retail cannabis license has just been issued this week, I look forward to reporting in on how our membership base grows in the coming year as we move to understand this newly legal industry.

Also at the AGM, members voted to confirm our new Board of Directors. One position was up for election, and members voted to re-elect Trevor Kaatz for a second term. In a meeting following the AGM, the Board elected your executive for 2018-19 comprised of: Al McCreary (President), Al Deacon (Vice President), and Trevor Kaatz (Treasurer). You can find a full list of our directors here.

If you have any questions about the AGM, or suggestions for how to improve next year’s Liquor Conference, please don’t hesitate to get in touch at

Join the fight! Become a member today.


Our Partners